pasobtracker.blogg.se

Youtube mac demarco this old dog
Youtube mac demarco this old dog









#Youtube mac demarco this old dog mac

Here Mac assigns his hastening signs of ageing with his lifestyle, brilliantly capturing the late-twenties epiphany of “fuck, I’m becoming my dad” whilst tying in a recurring theme of his absent father and his attitudes towards him. Take the album opener “My Old Man”, for instance: “Look in the mirror, who do you see? / Someone familiar, but surely not me / For he can't be me / Look how old and cold and tired And lonely he's become / Not until you see / There's a price tag hanging off of having all that fun”. Despite its Beatles-like acid-trip grandeur, “Passing Out Pieces” felt a little like a quiet admission from a friend at a party: “Passing out pieces of me, don’t you know nothing comes free? / What mom don’t know has taken its toll on me / It’s all I’ve seen that can’t be wiped clean”.īeing everyone’s favourite friend and jokester comes at a cost, and in This Old Dog, the worry still seems present. They were perhaps most visible in his 2014 sophomore Salad Days. After all, the happy-go-lucky, ‘No Problem’ attitude diffuses from the 26-year-old like the smoke from his Viceroy, and his fun slacker-pop back catalogue reflects this cliche or not, Mac DeMarco is perfect for sleepy mornings, sunny afternoons and hazy evenings.īut look beyond the jolly jangling that hits first for a moment and the anxieties of a thoughtful and earnest young man show themselves clearly but calmly.









Youtube mac demarco this old dog